OFFICE of SURFACE MINING
RECLAMATION and ENFORCEMENT

U.S. Department of the Interior

Graphic of trees and lake scenery.

For More Information:

Western Region
Web Master
osm-wrweb@osmre.gov


Contact OSMRE
A
A
A

Technical Disciplines

  • Cultural Resources

    • Typical cultural resource duties include but are not limited to:

      • Review and evaluate historical and archeological resources
      • Evaluate data recovery and mitigation plans
      • Satisfy procedures of National Historic Preservation Act, National Environmental Policy Act and other laws, regulations and guidelines
      • Conduct oversight on State/Tribal programs to ensure compliance with cultural laws
      • Conduct consultations with and provide guidance to OSMRE offices, State Historic Preservation Officers (SHPO) and Tribal Historic Preservation Officers (THPO), Federal, State and Tribal entities, companies, contractors and the public on historic preservation matters
      • Ensure protection of cultural resources outside of disturbance areas
      For More Information:
      Jeremy Iliff
      (303)293-5016
      jiliff@osmre.gov
  • Ecology

    • Typical ecologist duties include but are not limited to:

      • Vegetation
      • Wildlife
      • Special Status Species
      • Land Use
      For More Information:
      Alex Birchfield
      (303)293-5064
      wbirchfield@osmre.gov
      Edward Vasquez
      (303)293-5081
      evasquez@osmre.gov
  • Engineering

    • Typical engineering duties include but are not limited to:

      • Evaluate Structure designs
      • Evaluate Backfilling and grading plans
      • Geomorphic reclamation plans
      • Dam Safety
      • Bonding
      For More Information:
      Matthew Hulbert
      (303)293-5034
      mhulbert@osmre.gov
      Karen Jass
      (303)293-5037
      kjass@osmre.gov
      Jeremy Spangler
      (303)293-5022
      jspangler@osmre.gov
      Mychal Yellowman
      (303)293-5049
      myellowman@osmre.gov
  • Geographic Information Systems (GIS)

    • Typical GIS duties include but are not limited to:

      • Prediction modeling and mine mapping
      • Map and query data related to coal mining and reclamation activities
      • Software support
      For More Information:
      David Carter
      (303)293-5014
      dcarter@osmre.gov
  • Hydrology

    • Typical Hydrology duties include but are not limited to:

      • Surface and ground water modeling
      • Surface and ground water monitoring
      • Surface water structure designs
      • Impoundment designs and discharge compliance
      • Ensure protection of the hydrologic balance
      For More Information:
      Paul Clark
      (303)293-5065
      pclark@osmre.gov
      Flynn Dickinson
      (303)293-5013
      fdickinson@osmre.gov
      Roberta Martinez-Hernandez
      (303)293-5063
      rmartinezhernandez@osmre.gov
      John Sieving
      (307)261-6541
      jsieving@osmre.gov
  • Remote Sensing

    • Typical Remote Sensing Specialist duties include but are not limited to:

      • Support States, Tribes, and OSMRE Offices
      • Provide remotely sensed data and the tools to use remote sensing technologies in support of SMCRA Title IV and V
      • Software Training
      • Technical Assistance
      For More Information:
      David Carter
      (303)293-5014
      dcarter@osmre.gov
  • Soils

    • Typical soil scientist duties include but are not limited to:

      • Ensure protection of salvaged and stored topsoil
      • Ensure acid and toxic forming materials are adequately covered
      • Ensure redistribution of topsoil is done in a timely manner
      • Ensure a suitable root zone as been established
      For More Information:
      Jacob Mulinix
      (303)293-5030
      jmulinix@osmre.gov

Page Last Modified/Reviewed: 2/28/18

Western Region OSMRE, 1999 Broadway St., Suite 3320, Denver, CO 80202-3050
(303) 293-5000 | TTY: (202) 208-2694 | Email: osm-wrWeb@osmre.gov

Accessibility | Disclaimer | FOIA | No Fear | Notices | Privacy | DOI | USA.gov